{{ notfound }}

How do you learn to scuba dive in the PADI® Open Water Diver Course?


Scuba certification includes three phases: 

  1. Knowledge Development — From the comfort of your home, you’ll learn the basic principles of scuba diving by reading it in the PADI Open Water Diver Manual, either using PADI Touch™ on a tablet, or online with PADI eLearning®. At the end of each chapter, you’ll answer questions about the material to ensure you understand it. At the end of the course, you’ll take a final exam that ensures you have thorough knowledge of scuba diving basics. PADI Open Water Diver Course must be booked pre-­‐cruise to allow for adequate time for knowledge development. 
  2. Confined Water Dives — You’ll develop basic scuba skills in a pool. The basic scuba skills you learn during your certification course will help you become familiar with your scuba gear and become an underwater explorer.
  3. Open Water Dives — After your confined water dives, you’ll head to “open water,” where you and your instructor will make four dives, usually over two days. On these dives you’ll get to explore the underwater world. You’ll apply the skills you learned in confined water while enjoying what the local environment has to offer. 


Learn More

Still need help? Contact Us

Get support by Phone or Email

Previewing: Promo Dashboard Campaigns

My Personas